RSS

Pumpkin Banana Spice Muffins – an experiment.

03 Nov

I know – everyone and their uncles monkey has pumpkin on the brain right now. I never get sick of it though, I want pumpkin all year round.

To be honest? I kind of wanted these to fail.
Image

I wanted them to fail on the one hand, and I couldn’t afford for them to fail on the other. (Literally)

I wanted them to fail because my friend is going through a very rough time, and I wanted to make her smile – if it is even possible, with some sort of awry-ness.
I am kind of glad these muffins are saving her from my inappropriate sense of humor.

Sort of.

I have a problem. Well, I mean I have several problems. But I can’t look at pecans with a straight face. I won’t tell you what they look like to me, because you won’t be able to look at them with a straight face ever again either.
Maybe I am just really, really immature. That’s probably more like it.

So yes- Muffins.

Preheat oven to 350F
Grease up and lightly flour your muffin pans or if you are better prepared than I am, line them with papers.
—-
Gather ye two bowls of goodly size.

In one bowl whisk together:
3 1/2 cups Flour
2 cups Sugar
1 tsp. Baking soda
1 tsp. Baking powder
1 tsp. Salt

In the other bowl whisk together:
1 15 oz. can Pumpkin
4 Eggs
*1 cup mashed Banana (about 2, Very ripe) – see below!
2/3 cup water
2 tbsp. Rum (or Vanilla extract, OR Bourbon or a combo of Vanilla extract and booze)
2 tsp. Cinnamon
1/4 tsp. Clove
1/4 tsp. Ginger
1/4 tsp. Nutmeg
a touch over a smidgen of Cayenne Pepper

Yes I said a smidgen… look:

Image
(For some reason… WordPress doesn’t listen to me when I insist that this picture has been edited to be rotated properly. Go figure.)

Pour wet ingredients into the dry and whisk until it just comes together.
At this point you can fold in about 1/2 a cupish of:
Chopped pecans or walnuts
Chocolate chips
Blueberries
Craisins
Raisins (But why would you WANT to?)

Muffins take about 25 minutes, Bread took about 40.
Check them and poke them with a stick, poking stick should come out clean.

Image
**A note on the Banana! –   You can substitute the Banana for 1 cup applesauce.
Applesauce will not interfere with the pumpkiny-ness of the muffins like the banana will.  Both of these are substitutes for oil and butter – without taking away the “I am eating a muffin!” happy away from the entire experience.

I mean… come on. You are eating a muffin.
If you want – you can still slather them with butter.
I wont judge.

These were pretty good. Dense, moist… I ate one and felt like I was eating something. It was not like eating a cupcake. Do you know what I mean? Cupcakes are… light, fluffy. This is a muffin. It is not light or airy. (Its no doorstop either though, and it did not disintegrate into a pile of crumbs.)
The cayenne is in there to elevate the clove and cinnamon, you won’t notice it unless you have an incident and overdo it… like if someone nudges your elbow while you are measuring or something.
Or – you try to interpret what a “smidgen” is and don’t have my cool spoon. I’d estimate it to be around 1/16thish of a teaspoon.
I’m not much help am I?

Applesauce in these will likely make them a touch lighter in texture. Had I been more prepared, I’d likely have used that instead. I wanted pumpkin something, not banana something. In spite of that – I can’t complain, these came out awesome.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 3, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Pumpkin Banana Spice Muffins – an experiment.

  1. Renee Crowdersmith

    November 6, 2013 at 10:42 am

    Those look delicious, barring the pecans, which I will never be able to look at in the same way again. HOW did I never notice that?

     
    • saiyge

      November 6, 2013 at 10:45 am

      I’m clearly becoming a bad influence. -laughs- My only excuse is that there is a 14 year old perverted boy that resides in my subconscious. It would really explain so much.

      The really cool thing though? These muffins only get better each day. Today the last bit of bread went. It was SO good.

       

Leave a Reply

 
