RSS

Potatoes for the Weary Seague

03 Aug

So. Right. It’s been long enough, don’t you think?

Yesterday I conquered my nemesis. Strawberry Rhubarb Pie. 

Image
I did not take presentable pictures. It was a cooking frenzy.

I am giving you a peace offering because it is exceedingly hard to screw this up, and done right – they are brilliant and simple. We like simple. We like… a lot of things. And – While we may not wax eloquent today, we have thoughts we’d like to express in some way. I say we do it around potatoes. The smell of them, pictures of them, rambling about them. We will talk about things between roughly quartered slices of red potato. Things that really have nothing to do with potatoes at all.

Image

Because you may just want to know about the potatoes – here is what we are doing.

Preheat oven to 425F.
Wash a bunch of lovely red potatoes. Quarter and slice them.

I found about 5-8 med. to large potatoes fit pretty well into my large Pyrex casserole. Remember not to overpack – we are roasting these, and potatoes like some personal space. Not too much, Not too little. 

Slice up one large onion. I am using Vidalias. They make me think of home.

Roughly chop 4-5 cloves garlic.

Toss all of these things into a large bowl.

(Do you have the giant tupperware bowl that I have? This one always makes me think of rising bread and stuffing. Many of my friends know exactly what I am speaking of when I mention THE BIG TUPPERWARE BOWL – though, theirs are not always sunshiney yellow. They too often have many childhood memories attached to said bowls.)

See what I did there? Right. Potatoes.

Toss all that in a bowl, if you are feeling particularly sorry for yourself, lets add in chopped bacon. I am. I did. (4-5 slices)

(Wash hands well as to not be attacked by random bacon addicts. It happens.)

Drizzle with plenty of extra virgin olive oil – enough to coat generously.
Sprinkle liberally with:

Salt
Pepper
Parmesan
Italian seasoning (McCormick Perfect Pinch is pretty good)

Set your timer for a half hour, stick pan of goodness into oven. Go… noodle about somewhere. Write a blog post. Do something.

At the half hour mark, stir potatoes and see how they are doing. Stick in oven for another 30 minutes, checking every so often for fork tenderness and browning. These potatoes are pretty forgiving, they don’t need babysitting, you do want them to be brown and crispy.  Remember what I said – make sure they have some personal space, You should be able to stir these without fear of flinging hot potato chunks like missiles at random passerby.  

ImageIn a perfefct world, your bacon bits and everything will cook and be murgled together and perfect in 45 minutes to an hour.

Today I am going to wallow in bacon because I can. It was there. It just happened.
I am going to ponder how to handle figuring out what to do with the melange of feelings you are left with when you realize that people are not what you thought they were, and that the people you thought of as constants in your life – keystones to your very self… are no longer even in your foundation, and maybe the resulting empty spots and cracks are not something you are even able to fix.

I am feeling a little bit like a carefully built house that has been a little neglected, but built with sentient bits that – being embarrassed perhaps of their place here, no longer want to be a part of the building. Other bricks won’t fit. They were here you see, from the beginning. The spaces were made just-so, for them to occupy. 

I am the first person to blame myself for most of the bad things that go on in my life… but I am sort of thinking, after months of soul searching that perhaps right now I am learning the hard way that not everything actually IS my fault.  Maybe it is often easier to lay blame on someone I don’t need to have a confrontation with, and who can’t just walk away… but it isn’t helping me. It just makes things worse.

So tonight…I will reponder my priorities and try to figure out who I want to be when I grow up, and maybe… come to accept that I have been outgrown by some of my missing bricks…. 

Maybe I’ll stuff some of those holes up with potatoes and bacon.

 

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 3, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Potatoes for the Weary Seague

  1. thinbrim

    August 4, 2012 at 7:29 am

    Potatoes and bacon make a great psyche mortar ❤ Once it is cool enough to again use that oven, I am trying this recipe, ty! AND OMGG I have that big bright yellow Tupperware bowl!

     

Leave a Reply

 
