RSS

It’s not just the cake that goes upside-down…

03 Aug

I had to middle name myself a few moments ago. You see, I am tired of making cake.

My feet hurt.

Things went … do I need to say it? (awry)
(The pictures you are about to see are infused with yellow interior light, I’m sorry. I am also sorry that this cake also… is so yellow that it is hard to tell which is the light and which is just… ugly cake. meh.)

I dont know why I am just putting cake into the oven at 8:48pm on a Tuesday. Well… yes, I do know.  It is the Misters birthday. Happy Birthday Mister! ❤  This is the first year in several years that I have been able to afford to make him birthday cake. I have been planning said cake for a while now. Or rather, had I REALLY been planning, it would not have gone as awry as it did. I know for next time…. I will promptly forget. Its what I do.

So yes, Misters birthday.  He is not big on sweet things. He is more … bacony, salty… processed meat and cheese producty. But each year as he was growing up? Cake? Pineapple Upside-down. His Moms.
You know what this means. Things-Mom-Made. Moms… always make the best (or the worst, its rarely just mom-usedtamake-this-thing-and-it-was-eh-okay-I-guess).

It’s challenging, its daunting. Not to mention, I am not big on pineapple baked things. I never had it before making it myself.

My brief encounters with pineapple-at-a-party-with-other-stuff-and-not-being-antisocial-by-itself  was very limited to things like…oh… That god awful version of ambrosia. (Canned pineapple, cool whip, jello?, marshmallows,fruit cocktail out of can…. mixed together, usually in a bundt like jello mold and flipped over.) So sweet that your teeth are willing to give up secrets about all the things you did when you were a teenager in order to be swished in black coffee for relief. (Not that I ever did anything that my teeth would keep secret.. or something. I don’t know, aren’t we talking about pineapple? Why are you looking at me that way?)

So yeah, Birthday tradition thing. Mister. Pineapple Upside-Down Cake
The first year I made it, I made it in a huge rectangle of pyrex, and the cats attacked it while it was cooling after the flip. (awry cake, see?) Everyone cut that corner off and assured me it was fantastic. (It was pretty excellent actually, I thought they were being nice and trying to talk me off the ledge. They actually weren’t.

So! What made things go awry? Oh.. My Fridge. Looked like this this morning.

Oh dear...

Oh dear...

We just hadn’t gotten to the store. I promise that cider in there is a month old and is not why there is a large lack of food in my fridge. Yes.. that does say bait. That is the mister’s drawer. <.< So yes. Grocery shopping. Say a prayer for that jar of pickle juice, it met its demise when that bar on the door broke and it went crashing to the tile floor and spread dill vinegary goodness on ALLTHETHINGS.  Anyway, that took longer than expected because the car battery died blah blah blah. AWRY.

So… Cake. We hope. Its in the oven. It isn’t done yet.
This is where you are going to be annoyed with me, if you aren’t already.  I forgot to write down part of what I did, but it wont be that big of a deal I don’t think. We’ll see. It only counts if you wanted the recipe -cough-.

Dry stuff

Preheat your oven to 350F
Sift together your flour, baking powder, spices and salt and set aside.
Cream together your butter and sugar until they look lovely and fluffy and happy
together.

ooooh, yellow.

Add eggs one at a time (waiting until each one is incorporated into the batter)

Yay for spoons!

Add vanilla, milk and pineapple juice together and slowly add them to the mix.

It looks way better here than later....

Add in your dry ingredients a little at a time or the batter will explode and you will be coated in goo.
Place rings around the bottom of your pan and dot with cherries. I really prefer these, they are lovely. And check out that wonderful labeling. It makes me happy just looking at it.

Here is where you groan and throw things at me…. you have to make caramel, which is really just a slowly heated and stirred combo of butter, brown sugar and corn syrup. Sometimes there’s no corn syrup. I’ve done it with just the butter and brown sugar several times before. But … I forgot how much brown sugar I had, and did not have enough. I had to fish out a half melted stick of butter. I had to add a few tablespoons of granulated sugar and some molasses, My mind went blank, there wasn’t a pen, My goldfish ate my homework. Mistakes were made. Anyway….. um. It bubbled, it looked right… I poured it over the pineapple in the bottom of my bundt pan and then poured in the batter. And put it in the oven…. And then looked at the mess my kitchen was, and middle named myself to go clean that cast iron missy. RIGHT NOW. (Because with cast iron, you MUST clean it -right away- and tell it you love it. It will love you back.)

oh... beloved cast iron...

And then I came and sat down.
And then I went to check the cake.

Fat bottom cake... you make the baking world go.. oh... erm... nevermind.

And this is where I tell you that  it looks ugly…. until you cut it. I will take pictures of that tomorrow and hopefully I will remember to upload it.

But it is rather lovely and carmelized....

I played it safe with what I remember on the spices, now having tasted it, I would recommend 1/4 tsp. of clove and ginger if you like things spicier. (I think its really easy to overdo ginger and cloves.)  Normally, I will also dot the cake with pecan halves, but I forgot that I had some shoved in the back of my freezer, Pecans give this a nice nutty touch and the flavors play very well together.

The cake is dense, moist, and makes you feel as if you had CAKE.

The misters eyes rolled back in his head. Yay \o/

Cake:
a scant handful of canned and pitted cherries
1 can pineapple rings with
3/4c pineapple juice reserved
3/4 c. unsalted butter
1 3/4 c. sugar
1 1/2 tsp. vanilla
3/4 c. milk
2 1/2 c. flour
1/8 tsp of each: ginger, clove, cinnamon
2 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt

—-
Caramel…. its a mystery.
Brown sugar
Butter
Corn syrup
If you don’t have brown sugar, you can mix molasses with white sugar, but I forget the ratio, and honestly, chances are you are going to have brown sugar instead of molasses.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 3, 2011 in baking, cake

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
